PRLA Educational Foundation Awards $32,000 in Scholarships to Pennsylvania Students

Administered by the PRLA’s charitable foundation, the PRLAEF Scholarship Program annually provides Pennsylvania students with the opportunity to further their education in the hospitality industry. This year, the PRLAEF awarded a dozen $2,000 scholarships to students who will be pursuing their post-secondary education in the culinary arts or hospitality management.

In addition to the PRLAEF awards, two students from Philadelphia were named recipients of the Richard Kubach Scholarship: Alayana Betances and Michael Howard. Both are continuing their education at Temple University in the hospitality and tourism management program. The Richard Kubach Scholarship is awarded to students from Philadelphia who intend on continuing their post-secondary education in a hospitality field.

Congratulations to the following PRLAEF scholarship recipients:

  • Victoria Brown (Philadelphia)
    Temple University
  • Lola Bruton (Downingtown)
    University of Denver
  • Molly Davis  (State College)
    Penn State University
  • Andrew Heiland (York)
    Penn State University
  • Rebecca High (Willow Street)
    PA College of Technology
  • Chloe Hindle (Meadville)
    IUP Academy of Culinary Arts—Punxsutawney
  • Kiondre Kenner (Allentown)
    East Stroudsburg University
  • Jared Schwenk (New Ringgold)
    PA College of Technology
  • Alexis Shytle (Myerstown)
    Westmoreland County Community College
  • Caitlin Swartz (Royersford)
    Johnson & Wales University
  • Rachel Ventour (Philadelphia)
    Walnut Hill College

Abigale Downs of Hawthorn and Kirsten Marks of Linesville were the inaugural recipients of the Michael Barrett Scholarship. Downs will attend Westmoreland County Community College, while Marks will attend Sullivan University. The Michael Barrett Scholarship is awarded to students from northwestern Pennsylvania who intend on continuing their post-secondary education in a hospitality field. •